RoadCover’s Brendon Davids takes honours at the Polokwane Annual Mayoral Race
May 29, 2017  

Supplied by Nic White from White Inc
The Polokwane Local Municipality hosted the Polokwane Annual Mayoral Race at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Sunday in the Limpopo Province.

The race which draws thousands of entrants, has been elevated to a Category A status by Cycling South Africa. This places this competition in the same class as the Cape Cycle Tour in Western Cape, 947 Cycle Challenge in Gauteng and the Amashovashova Cycle Race in KwaZulu-Natal.

Road Cover’s Brendon Davids won the 104 km race, while Bestmed’s An-Li Kachelhoffer won the Women’s 104km.


Brendon Davids wins solo in Polokwane


Despite attending the event with only four riders, Team RoadCover’s plan was to race  aggressively.  “My team mate Bradley Potgieter set me up nicely for an attack early in the race” explains winner Brendon Davids.   


Please with that hard effort, Davids is content! Girdlestone (obscured) has arrived in second place.


Escaping in first 40 km of the race, Davids maintained the gap of some 20 seconds all the way to the finish.  “I road very hard for last 65km by myself, bringing home the win with a 30 sec gap,” says the Polokwane race champion.
All in all, it was a really good day for the team. Other achievements from the RoadCover Team include Mornay van Heerden, who won the under 23 Competition and RoadCover Team Captain, Bradley Potgieter who placed 9th in the Overall 104 km race.

“Thanks to the entire RoadCover management team for facilitating the arrangements to get us all there,” adds Davids.  “It’s always good to be racing with the boys. They’re always strong and willing to compete.  We are looking forward to next one,” concludes the RoadCover champ.

Davids, spent at the finish, after more than half the race riding solo. The Colnago V1-R & Token C38 Wheels a great combination for ultimate speed & comfort!


Race results:

    1    Brendon Davids (RoadCover Cycling team) 2:21:00
    2    Dylan Girdlestone (Independent) 2:21:27
    3    David Maree (Team BCX) 2:23:06
    4    Ricardo Broxham (Protouch) 2:23:06
    5    Jason Oosthuizen (Protouch) 2:23:06

Copyright © 2015. White Inc. All rights reserved.