Kent Main wins Tour of Good Hope for the RoadCover Pro Cycling Team
March 11, 2017  

Supplied by Nic White from White Inc
An exciting finale of the BestMed Tour of Good Hope took place around Paarl on Friday, finishing at the Taal Monument. Kent Main excelled on final climb to win the tour.


RoadCover Cycling Team was in a good position, although lying 2nd and 3rd on the overall classification at the start of the last day.  Myles van Musschenbroek for Protouch Sports was in the yellow jersey with a lead of 51 seconds.  RoadCover's Kent Main was lying in 2nd position.  With a relatively short stage of 80km, it was going to be difficult to make a dent in the lead of van Musschenbroek.   


Clint Hendricks and Brendon Davids guide the team at the Tour of Good Hope - Race images from Rob Ward

The race started off relatively calm.  There were a few crosswinds at certain times, but no significant breakaways took place during the day.  With 20 Km remaining, there was a very strong crosswind and the race split up into a few smaller groups under the pressures from RoadCover.  A select group went clear together and reached the final Taal Monument climb which was 3.5km in length to race for the stage win.


The action hots up in the windy sections near the finale

Willie Smit, Eddie van Heerden who was 3rd overall and Kent Main all from the RoadCover Team were in the front group, working hard to create an opportunity for the race win.

On the final ascent with just 2km remaining, Myles von Musschenbroek faulted under the attacks from Kent Main.  “Seeing that it was just 1km until the top, I dug deep to hold off the other riders,” says 21- year old Kent Main who managed to surge all the way to the top of the hill, finishing in 3rd position on the stage.


Kent Main stops his clock finishing in 3rd place on the stage


Stefan De Bod of Dimension Data Continental team won the stage, with Nicholas Dlamini in second. Main just behind him. It took a little while for announcement of the time gaps, it was a very close call as to who would lead the tour.


Ther final podium overall. Kent Main wins, Myles van Musschenbroek in 2nd and Eddie Van Heerden 3rd - Phil Ligget hands over the Phil Ligget floating trophy!

Kent Main won the tour overall for the RoadCover Cycling Team, 1.4 sec in front of Myles von Musschenbroek.  3rd overall was Eddie van Heerden, also from the RoadCover Team.



Copyright © 2015. White Inc. All rights reserved.