Smit wins the African Continental Championships Road Race in Luxor
February 20, 2017  

Supplied by Nic White from White Inc
The African Continental Championships took place in Luxor, Egypt this past week. The road event on Sunday was won by South African Willie Smit who represents RoadCover Cycling team! Meron Abraham of Eritrea 2nd and Ahmed Galdoune of Morocco in third



Willie Smit after winning the Continental Road Race for South Africa

The 163km race on a flat circuit in Luxor was characterised by fast racing, with a large early escape group, eventually resulting in the race coming together before a group of 9 riders went to the line. Smit winning the resulting sprint.

The individual time trial that took place on Thursday was won by Meron Teshome of Eritrea from Stefan de Bod of South Africa. Third place went to Awet Habtom or Eritrea. Willie Smit was 4th.


Stefan De Bod finished 2nd in the Individual Time Trial for South Africa in Luxor


The Road Race (163km) Results:

1 Willie SMIT  (RSA)  3:45:54
2 Meron Arham Brhane  (ERI)   +0
4 Temesgen BURU (ETH)  +0
5 Yonatan HAILE  (ERI)  +0
6 Joseph ARERUYA (RWA)  +0
7 Islam MANSOURI  (ALG)  +0
8 Awet HABTOM  (ERI)  +0
9 Mouhsin ANNACHNACH  (MAR)  +0
10 Abdelkader BELMOUKHTAR  (ALG)  +14


Individual Time Trial results

Dis-Chem Ride for Sight

In South Africa, The Dis-Chem Ride for Sight Super Classic was won by Calvin Beneke of Team Telkom on Sunday on the East Rand of Johannesburg. Morne Van Niekerk was second and JC Nel third.


Calvin Beneke wins the Ride for Sight - Image - cyclenation


This popular long standing event attracts many participants, and this year the race was held in windy by pleasant conditions.

The elite event started really fast, but by the half way mark, a large escape group formed.

This group did not gain much of an advantage from the field, but in the finale it was reduced by attacking racing.

Kent Main of RoadCover attacked with 5 kilometres remaining, but was brought back by the counter move of Beneke and Van Niekerk. The duo went clear and in the race for the finish, Beneke was the quickest.

The second group contained JC Nel, Kent Main and Chris Jooste and the sprinted for the remaining podium position, Nel getting the better of the others.


JC Nel finished 3rd ahead of Kent Main


The final result, 116km:

1. Calvin Beneke (team Telkom) 2:40:54
2. Morne Van Niekerk (Team Aspire) +00
3. JC Nel (Pro Touch) +06
4. Kent Main (RoadCover Cycling team) +06
5. Chris Jooste (Luso) +06
6. Neil Robinson (Pro Touch) +13
7. Reynard Butler (Team Telkom) +13
8. Jandrich Kotze (Luso) +14
9. Jared Poulton +14
10. Myles Von Musschenbroek (Pro Touch) +15


The Dis-Chem Ride for Sight Podium


Copyright © 2015. White Inc. All rights reserved.